The Crown season 6 split into two parts as release dates are announced

Virgin Radio

10 Oct 2023, 07:18

Imelda Staunton as Queen Elizabeth II in The Crown

Credit: Netflix

The sixth and final season of The Crown is on its way, but it will be split into two parts.

Yes, we finally have a release date for the last instalment of the hit Netflix series. Well, actually, we have two release dates.  

With season six being divided in two, we only have to wait until next month for the first batch of new episodes, but will need to hold on until December to see part two. 

Here are the dates for your diary: Season six will land on Netflix on 16th November, with the second part arriving on the streaming platform four weeks later, on 14th December.

The dates were announced on Monday (9th October), along with a brand new teaser trailer. 

In it, we see Imelda Staunton’s Queen Elizabeth II walking past images of Claire Foy and Olivia Colman’s versions of the Queen.

Have a look at it here.

The closing season of The Crown will cover other key events from Queen Elizabeth II’s reign and the lives of the royals from the mid-1990s through to the 2000s. This will include the tragic death of Princess Diana.

Along with a new trailer, two new posters have also been unveiled on social media. 

The first shows Diana - played by Elizabeth Debicki - sitting on a diving board in the ocean, while the second shows Staunton as the Queen, walking in a shard of light, with a shadow being cast behind her. 

The sixth season will also introduce Ed McVey as Prince William, as well as Meg Bellamy, who makes her professional acting debut as Kate Middleton. 

Season six will see Jonathan Pryce return as Prince Philip, while Dominic West plays Prince Charles and Olivia Williams portrays Camilla Parker-Bowles. Labour leader Tony Blair will be played by Bertie Carvel.

The Crown season six part one will premiere on Netflix on 16th November. Part two will premiere on 14th December.