RTS Awards 2023: The Traitors, Derry Girls and Sherwood win top prizes

Virgin Radio

29 Mar 2023, 07:50

Claudia Winkleman at the RTS Awards 2023, Sherwood, Derry Girls

Credit: Royal Television Society / BBC / Channel 4

The Traitors, Derry Girls and Am I Being Unreasonable? were the big winners at The Royal Television Society Programme Awards overnight. 

BBC comedy Am I Being Unreasonable? bagged three prizes during the ceremony on Tuesday (28th March) including for Comedy Performance for Daisy May Cooper. 

Googlebox was shown some love in the Formatted Popular Factual category, while Derry Girls landed two prizes, one for Scripted Comedy and the other for writer Lisa McGee.

Picking up two prizes each were BBC challenge series The Traitors and Sherwood. The former saw Claudia Winkleman take home the Entertainment Performance prize. Meanwhile Sherwood landed Drama Series and Supporting Actor - Male for Adeel Akhtar. 

Speaking exclusively to virginradio.co.uk on the RTS Awards red carpet, Adeel explained why being nominated for this particular award show has such a big significance. 

He shared: “The RTS means way more than most, only because just being a fan of TV and just being with your colleagues in one room where you can look across at somebody and be like, ‘you know what that's like to live that life.’ Doing TV, the early starts and late finishes, can be hard, so it's just nice to be in a room with your colleagues.”

On the success of the 80s drama, the actor continued: “Sherwood has a lot of TV legends in it. You got like Leslie Manville and Alun Armstrong, Claire Rushbrook. So my overall feeling was just to keep up. I think it captures this nostalgia of TV that we had when we were young. It did this magical thing where it captured TV in a very nostalgic way, but the right type of nostalgia.”

The Leading Actor gong went to Heartstopper’s Kit Connor, while the female counterpart prize went to I Am Ruth star Kate Winslet. 

Starring in the Channel 4 drama alongside real-life daughter Freya, Kate said during her acceptance speech (via Variety): “It has never been a harder time to be a parent, it has never been a more dangerous time to be a child in an online world. So let’s hope that the next Online Safety Bill implements significant and seismic change that will fundamentally help towards securing the safety of all of our children by recognizing and criminalising harmful content.”

This Is Going To Hurt won praise in the Supporting Actor - Female category, with Ambika Mod winning for her portrayal of junior doctor Schruti Acharya. 

Meanwhile, a few short months after the historic finale of Happy Valley, Sarah Lancahsire won the Outstanding Achievement Award. 

Speaking after her big win, Sarah said backstage: “It’s a great honour…Happy Valley has had an extraordinary reception so I think that’s going to live with me for a very long time, if not forever.”

Full list of winners from 2023 Royal Television Society Programme Awards: 

  • Arts - The Evolution of Black British Music

  • Breakthrough Award - Lenny Rush, Am I Being Unreasonable?

  • Children’s Programme - Dodger

  • Comedy Drama - Brassic

  • Comedy Entertainment - Friday Night Live

  • Comedy Performance (Female) - Daisy May Cooper, Am I Being Unreasonable?

  • Comedy Performance (Male) - Lenny Rush, Am I Being Unreasonable?

  • Daytime Programme - Loose Men

  • Documentary Series - Gazza

  • Drama Series - Sherwood

  • Entertainment - The Traitors

  • Entertainment Performance - Claudia Winkleman, The Traitors

  • Formatted Popular Factual - Gogglebox

  • History - Our Falklands War: A Frontline Story

  • Leading Actor (Female) - Kate Winslet, I Am Ruth

  • Leading Actor (Male) Kit Connor, Heartsopper

  • Limited Series - Mood

  • Live Event - The State Funeral of HM The Queen Elizabeth II (BBC)

  • Presenter - Ramita Navai, Afghanistan: No Country for Women

  • Science & The Natural World - The Green Planet

  • Scripted Comedy - Derry Girls

  • Single Documentary - The Tinder Swindler

  • Single Drama - Life and Death in the Warehouse

  • Soap and Continuing Drama - Casualty

  • Sports Presenter, Commentator or Pundit - Ade Adepitan

  • Sports Program - Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

  • Supporting Actor (Female) Ambika Mod, This Is Going to Hurt

  • Supporting Actor (Male) Adeel Akhtar, Sherwood

  • Writer Comedy - Lisa McGee, Derry Girls

  • Writer Drama - Lucy Prebble, I Hate Suzie Too

  • Judges’ Award - Charlotte Moore – chief content officer, BBC

  • Outstanding Achievement Award - Sarah Lancashire