Iggy Pop announces details of a new album

Virgin Radio

19 Jul 2019, 14:34

Iggy Pop has announced that new record 'Free' will be coming on September 6th.

This is his first album since 2016's 'Post Pop Depression' and he told NME "This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice".

(Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images for Tibet House US)

He went on to say "By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long. But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free."

Iggy Pop explained how this freedom helped him create his new album saying " all that you need - not happiness or love necessarily but the feeling of being free. So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen"

The tracklist for the much anticipated 'Free' is found below:

1. Free 2. Loves Missing 3. Sonali 4. James Bond 5. Dirty Sanchez 6. Glow In The Dark 7. Page 8. We Are The People 9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night 10. The Dawn